Tracking excavation quantities

Hello

I need to track the cubic yards that is excavated everyday from the same area. I don’t want to topo the giant area. Is there a way to just topo what was excavated that day.

I’m no expert, but yes. You Should be able to do a beginning of excavation Topo one time, then an end of day (EOD) Topo for the area excavated that day. Each day will subsequently build off of the previous day, alleviating the need to Topo the entire site. You will however need to collect some data points at the end of each day of excavation, so the end of Day 1 will also be the beginning of Day 2 and so on. Hope this helps.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply :blush:I can topo at the end of the day, but jhoe do you organize the topos in TBC and track the quantities?

Depends on if the current days excavation is completely within the excavation of the previous day. If it is, then you can compare the two days topos to get your quantities.

If the daily excavations do not overlap or partially overlap, then you will need to merge the surface of the current topo and with that of the previous days merged topo. In other words you always merge today’s topo with yesterday’s merged topo, and then compare today’s merged topo with yesterday’s merged topo.

I typically organize my topo’s by date in the following naming convention: YYYYMMDD - Description e.g. 20240124 - Excavation Topo would be my name for today’s excavation topo.

1 Like

organize the surfaces by date just make sure your using the right topo grid size for the granularity of data that you want and try and hit the same spots everyday @alan.sharp there is a reporting function in RPS for record keeping of quantities and their reports run right? if your using earthwork enabled excavators you could use worksOS for keeping track of daily cut/fills vs designs

1 Like

Yes!! That’s what I need. Let me practice this, Thanks :pray: