Rebuilding Finish models off engineer provided cut sheets?

for background I’m pretty new to model building and skipped the “surveyor” step in my career path so i’m asking this question to fill in some missing fundamental knowledge.

it’s come to my attention one of our model builders is building their jobs finish model per engineer plan, then once cut sheets are provided he is rebuilding his finish grade models off cut sheets to better match the stakes in the field.

I’m trying to better understand why this is necessary? Assuming you’re within a .01’ of the design elevations shouldn’t the stakes match the design barring any blunders/busts on the engineers side of things? Wouldn’t using cut sheets theorhetically decrease model accuracy? I guess i’m missing the benefit of cut sheets and how others utilize them, or do you even utilize them?

3 Likes

What’s a cut sheet? Lol. The only reason I could see for rebuilding the model as described is to compare the staked information with the proposed Finish Grade model. Why does his model need to match the stakes precisely?

Hey Grady,

In my experience the reason would probably be to account for a variety of factors that I will detail a bit for you. One reason to make changes after staking is because there may be design oversights that required field adjustments and he wants his model to reflect those changes. A common area where this typically occurs on most jobs is anytime you need to match into existing. Existing match details are typically wrong when measured in the field.

Another reason you might want to make a change is around tie slopes, if the existing surface model used in the design was inaccurate then this can adversely affect your tie locations depends on how accurate you want to be really