Exporting and firmware

Hi there - We have been having repeated issues in the field with our guys not being able to check in between DC/Rover and Base. We have recalibrated the site a couple of times and changed out the data collectors for updated trimble. (We are using trimble data collector but have a komatsu dozer)

I guess my question is could exporting it out at a higher firmware version be causing the issue? I am fairly new to all of this - but have exported like every other job and want to ensure I am not making a mistake. In my mind the common denominator is the base. Our guys say it will work for a few days and then they cannot check in. I am at a loss! Thanks for your help - I watched the exporting video that got me onto this train of thought. Thanks.

Crystal
Is your base set up permanently or are they setting it up each day?

If they are setting it up each day and some days it “works” and other days it “fails to work” then it is likely a base setup problem that causes it to fail.

What does your base setup look like? Is it a post sunk in concrete with a 5/8 thread permanently mounted or is it being set up on a Tripod or similar?

What type of Antenna are you using - you could have a Cable or Connector Issue between the Antenna and the Base Receiver - if that is damaged that could be intermittently causing a problem for example. Are you using a Geodetic antenna with the large ground plane or a small antenna - if a small antenna you may want to try a Geodetic Antenna with a larger ground plane.

Stupid I know but if the base is set up permanently - sometimes birds will sit on them - this can create an intermittent problem (eagles and owls have been known to try to nest on a base station antenna!). You may want to check that also.